The Dumpling Diary

Dis cooking so you cooking too.

I do what I want! December 13, 2010

Oh, hello. I didn’t see you there!
.
Yes, I know I am a sorry excuse for a blogger, but we recently got Netflix, and now I occupy my time with ungodly foreign films. Also, I’ve been on an Italian rampage (after spending, oh 3-4 hours eating a six course meal at Trattoria Giuliana last week), and I’ve already shared most of the recipes I’ve been cooking, so, there’s that, too. Oh, and Jon and I discovered the best wine at that restaurant, Brindisi Rosso. 17 dollars for 1000mL. I do not think I need to explain the pros and cons of that kind of a deal. I have embarrassed myself enough, I think.
.
Anyhow, this post is going to be fairly short and sweet, but I’ll leave you with a really great recipe that belongs to my mumma. So, let’s start off with that, and then I’ll spend the rest of the post boasting about my terrific baked goods that I took my blog vacation for!
.
Mum’s Applesauce Cake (in LOAF FORM!)
.

Oh, how festive our apartment has become!
.
Ingredients:
.
1/2 cup butter (softened slightly – room temp works well)
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 egg
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup raisins
(a handful of walnut pieces – this was my own addition)
.
Method:
.
Okay, basic stuff here, kiddos. Get a nice biggish-sized bowl, put the butter and sugar in. Mix until your arm falls off (wait, no, you could use beaters or something – I went old school last night – made it hurt so good). The sugar and butter should be thoroughly combined! This is called creaming the butter and sugar. I would have mentioned this initially, but I know half of the people who read this blog are filthy perverts, very unsavory sorts of people. CARRYING ON, add the egg, mix to combine. Add the applesauce, mix to combine. Then, stir in spices and baking soda, then raisins (and walnuts?), and then flour, until just combined and there is no dry flour hanging around anywhere. Alternately, you could take the classical method and sift the spices and soda into the flour, but I’m too lazy for that, and thus, devised this crafty method instead. So, now that that’s done, put the batter into a greased loaf pan (I think a little bundt cake pan might be nice too, though), I don’t know what size, just… Standard meatloaf size, that’s all I’m giving you. Bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes, or until it springs back when the surface is touched, and a toothpick will come out clean.
.
.
Okay, got that? Now, my favourite part! Let the self-glorification BEGIN!
.

This is a fig and almond custard pie. It was delicious.
.

This is a grapefruit pie. It was also delicious, and made me feel ever-so-Hannibal-Lector-ish!
.

This is some giant wheat bran bread that I made last night!
.

This is Big Suze trying to sneak her way into getting some giant bread. The blurry photo leads her to believe she is incognito.
.
That’s all I’ve got. Cheerio, readers!
megohm, over and out!

 

Leave a Reply

