The Dumpling Diary

Dis cooking so you cooking too.

Old-School Marinara (Plus Video!) October 25, 2010

Okay, so. I have redeemed my ways and reverted to traditional, non-bastardized Marinara. While the Devestating Tomato Sauce (Filthy Italian Style) is still a wondrous recipe, my everlasting quest for authenticity (the bane of my existence) has won. And, I prefer this recipe. Feels more home-y, I don’t know, plus, I think it tastes better. This recipe is so easy, holy crumb, you cannot fail. All you have to do is huck everything into a pot and cook it for a while (say, a few hours, if you’re a good little dumpling). This is a super-versatile recipe, you can use it for damn near anything! I chose to just serve it with fusilli pasta last night, but! Today, I used it to make pizza for lunch (sauce, homemade dough from the bread I’m making, mozzarelly, fresh basil and olives), and later, I might make a nice Pasta Fazool for my daddhu! Anyhow, let’s get down to business. Here’s the video (I have condensed my video length, joy of joys!), followed by the written recipe:
.

.
.
The Recipe:
.

.
Ingredients
.
2 cans (756mL) whole tomatoes, pureed (about 7 cups)
1 small can (156mL) tomato paste
1 med (2 sm) yellow onions, small dice
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 large bay leaf
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 Tbsp dried basil
1 Tbsp sugar
1-3 tsp salt (adjust as you like/as you go!)
Optional: 1/4 cup grated Romano cheese, or better yet, THE RIND!
Optional: Meat – Chicken (I used legs for this), Meatballs, Ground Meat, Pork Chops, anything!
.
Method:
.
Do I even need to say anything? I’m serious. Just put it all in a pot. Don’t piss around with sautéing the onions and garlic. You don’t have to. Put it all in a pot (raw meat and all, the health inspector isn’t going to find you, and if he does, tell him you’re with me. heh heh), over medium-high, let it come up to a boil/bigbigbig simmer, then drop the heat to low, or medium-low. Cover partially with a lid, and cook it for 2-4 hours, stirring occasionally so the bottom doesn’t burn. So, yeah, cook until it’s where you like it, thickness-wise, also depending on how much time you have to spare. If you want, you can throw in some fresh basil at the end. Season to taste, do whatever the hell you want with it. Throw some cream in, and you have tomato soup. We’re all winners today!

 

Leave a Reply

