The Dumpling Diary

Dis cooking so you cooking too.

Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pie October 15, 2010

Another (better quality, but we’re stilllllllll gettin’ there) cooking video on m’ new Youtube channel. This is supah delicious. Gooey and crackly and wonderful. EASY AS PIE, too. Heh, heh. I gave some pretty thorough pie-making instructions, for visual reference to some of my Life of Pie anecdotes. Hopefully it’s helpful, hope someone has the courage to make it. 2 cups of brown sugar and a 1/2 pound of lard is a scary concept, but, I double-dog-dare you. (Written ingredients/method below!)
.

.

.
.
For the crust:
.
Ingredients
.
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1/2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 cup ice water (plus a few Tbsp’s more)
Extra all-purpose flour
.
Method
.
Combine all flour, salt and baking powder in a medium sized bowl. Mix to combine well. Then, cut in lard with a pastry cutter or two knives (or you can use a paddle beater on a kitchen mixer), until it is the size of small peas. In another small bowl, beat the egg, add lemon juice and 1/2 cup ice water. Mix well. Pour into dry ingredients and stir to JUST combine with a fork. If you need a little more water, add 1 Tbsp at a time. Then, lightly knead maybe 6-8 times. Divide into 2 or 3 pieces (freeze the remainder for another use). With the piece you’re using, place on floured work surface, and roll out to 1/8″ thickness. Place in pie shell and form edges as desired.
.
For the Filling:
.
Ingredients
.
1/2 cup melted butter
2 cups brown sugar
4 eggs, beaten
1.5 Tbsp vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
3 Tbsp flour
.
Method
.
In a medium sized bowl,  combine all ingredients until smooth. Pour into shell and bake 50-60 minutes (or until edges are set, top is crackly) at 350 degrees.

 

2 Responses to “Brown Sugar Buttermilk Pie”

  1. Jeffery Hunt Says:

    I found this YouTube video searching for buttermilk pie. I made one last year and made one last week. Yours was the first recipe I’d seen, other than mine, that’s used brown sugar so I simultaniously felt robbed and validated. My recipe is the same except I use 1/2 white/brown sugar, a decent splash of lemon juice, a little cinnimon and too much nutmeg. It’s got lots of flavor. And I don’t make my own crust but I just bought a pie plate, have lard on hand (I use it to make biscutes all the time), so I’ll try doing your crust soon. Try it with the nutmeg and lemon juice; I think you’ll like the flavors.

    • Meg Says:

      It’s a great pastry recipe, my mom’s! Just make sure to roll it out really thinly – the baking powder causes it to puff up a bit.

      I’ll have to try the nutmeg and lemon juice next time, good idea, and I LOVE nutmeg. I checked out your Youtube page, enjoyed “Life is Easy,” and also, a Louisville man! I also LOVE Kentucky. So beautiful and the music scene is kickin’. I’d love to move there someday.


Leave a Reply

