The Dumpling Diary

Dis cooking so you cooking too.

Devestating Tomato Sauce (Filthy Italian Style) July 5, 2009

Filed under: Soups, Sauces and Stews — Meg @ 8:51 pm

Don’t worry, I’m Italian. It’s okay that I said filthy. The worcestershire is probably the most bastardized part about this recipe, really.

The sauce is deceptively simple to make, since it’s devestatingly good. That’s all you need to know.


Ingredients

3 Tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped relatively fine
5 cloves garlic, minced fine
2 cans tomato sauce(I don’t know, the big ones from Hunt’s, apple juice size)
1 bay leaf
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp sugar
1/4 cup grated parmesan or romano, or just the rind is fine.
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/4 – 1/2 tsp black pepper
A big splash of worcestershire sauce
Meat!

Method

Sweat the onions in oil till translucent, over medium, then add garlic and cook for a minute or so, but don’t let it burn! You’ll ruin it! Then, just throw everything else in. Let it simmer, covered, on low heat for 3-4 hours. Put in some quickly sautéed meatballs,  sautéed ground beef or pork (or both! I don’t care!), chicken breast, leg, whatever you’ve got. You will have the best tomato sauce of your life.

 

3 Responses to “Devestating Tomato Sauce (Filthy Italian Style)”

  1. Aunt Re Says:

    Hi Meg,
    Have you ever put raw meatballs in simmering sauce. My grandmother used to put a little bit of garlic in each ball. No pre cooking. The best meatballs you have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!! Let it cook your regular 3-4 hours. Absolutely the best.
    LOL
    Marie

  2. Meg Says:

    Actually, that’s what I always do! Dad taught me how to make meatballs – the way your/his grandmother used to make them. Although, I didn’t know about the garlic thing, I’ll have to try it next time. I find they don’t fall apart when you don’t pre-cook them, and it’s easier, so I never do anything else. Also, I like throwing in a chicken leg or two, or Italian sausages or something, even pork chops from time to time, no pre-cooking, just raw meat in the sauce. Soooo tender and delicious. 😀

    I want a recipe for your dad’s “scab sandwiches,” ahha. You should visit this site: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4IjNV3lZkQ Great Depression Cooking with Clara. She has old-school Italian recipes from the depression, she’s 93 years old! She has a peppers and eggs sandwich video up, looks taaaaasty.

  3. […] so. I have redeemed my ways and reverted to traditional, non-bastardized Marinara. While the Devestating Tomato Sauce (Filthy Italian Style) is still a wondrous recipe, my everlasting quest for authenticity (the bane of my existence) has […]


Leave a Reply

